The Executive Management and the Board of Directors gather professionals of the pharmaceutical and biotech industry as well as finance.

Gerd Zettlmeissl
Chairman of the Board

Gerd Zettlmeissl, PhD, has held different R&D and general management positions within the biopharmaceutical and vaccine industry since 1985. His last positions were Managing Director of Chiron Behring in Germany and Head of Technical Operations of Chiron Vaccines, and until May 2011 Chief Executive Officer of Intercell in Austria. During his career, he made major contributions to the discovery, development and registration of a number of biologicals and vaccines. He currently serves as Chairman of the Boards of Hilleman Laboratories, in India and of Themis, a vaccine biotech company in Austria. He is a Member of the Boards of Aeras, a US non-profit organization developing tuberculosis vaccines, and of Medigene, a cancer immunotherapy company in Germany. In addition he serves on the Scientific Advisory Boards of Biological E, a fully integrated vaccine manufacturer in India and of CureVac, a RNA vaccine company in Germany. He holds a doctoral degree in biochemistry from the University of Regensburg and did a post-doctoral fellowship at the Institut Pasteur Paris in virology from 1983 to 1985.

Thierry Legon


Ir. Agronomy, MBA, Thierry Legon was in charge for ten years of the management of the intellectual property and technology transfer of the University of Brussels (ULB). Thierry was also a board member of Euroscreen (a drug discovery biotech company) for eight years.

In May 1997, Thierry founded ASIT biotech as a spin-off company of the ULB. As Chief Executive Officer (CEO) since 2000, Thierry has successfully designed consecutive business plans, raised the required funds and is leading the team to achieve the goals of the company.

Jean Duchateau


M.D. PhD, graduated in Internal Medicine and Clinical Biology, Honorary Professor of Mucosal Immunology at Université Libre de Bruxelles, Head Department of Clinical Biology at CHU-Brugmann and Hôpital Universitaire des Enfants - Reine Fabiola (ULB) Professor Duchateau is one of the inventor of the first patents on tolerance induction to allergy and graft rejection, new LED tests, owned by ASIT biotech. Professor Duchateau was cofounder of ASIT biotech and he is now Honorary President.

François Meurgey


As managing Partner of Oukelos, François is working as independent consultant in pharmaceutical product strategic marketing. He spent more than twenty-five years in the biopharmaceutical industry, both in Europe and the United States, and holding both operational and higher management functions like Director of Global Marketing for Prozac® at Eli Lilly, Senior Director of Asia-Pacific Marketing at Merck & Co. and Vice-President of Global Marketing at UCB. François graduated from Reims Management School, received a master degree in International Relations from University of Paris-Sorbonne and holds an MBA from the Stern School of Business, New York University.

Everard van der Straten


Everard van der Straten holds a master from Solvay Business School. After a short career as auditor at Arthur and Anderson & Co, Everard was managing director of Metallo-Chimique Group and afterwards Board Member of the Metallum Group until end 2008. Currently, Everard is as well Business Angel.

Meusinvest SA repersented by Michel Baijot

Michel Baijot

Bioengineer, PhD, Michel Baijot is a life science executive bringing over 25 years of experience in building biologicals businesses with significant contribution in strategy, licensing, M&A and technology transfer.

His positions with biotech and big pharmaceutical companies as well as his tangible achievements reflect an in-depth knowledge of the business environment in both developed and emerging markets.

He is currently Board Director of IRE-Elit, the RadioPharma Division of IRE, and Board Director of OncoRadiomics. His previous positions include Executive Director Europe at Serum Institute of India, Head of Cipla Global Vaccine, Chief Business Officer at Janssen/Crucell, Vice President Worldwide Strategic Alliances and Business Development at GlaxoSmithKline Biologicals and Vice President Business Development at Innogenetics. He was Chairman of the Belgian Biotech Association during 5 years.

SFPI – FPIM represented by François Fontaine

Francois Fontaine web

Master degree in law and tax sciences, François Fontaine is a General Counselor at the Belgian Federal Investment and participation Company (SFPI) since December 2009. He is in charge of investment projects in the fields of new technologies, biomedical, real estate, waste, water treatment and energy sector. He was previously advisor to the tax unit of the Walloon Region in charge of the implementation and transfer of regional taxes.


RE Finance Consulting SA represented by Yves Désiront


Yves Désiront is the Managing Partner of a private equity fund based in Luxembourg and is acting, since October 2014, as Group CFO under a consulting contract with BGP Investment, a Luxembourg real estate group based in Luxembourg. Previously he acted as Group CFO of Orco Property Group. Prior to this he served in various roles at Groupe Bruxelles Lambert and Générale de Banque. Yves Désiront obtained in 1994 a master degree as Ingénieur Commercial in Business Administration and Technology Interface from I.C.H.E.C. Brussels.


Harry Welten


Harry Welten, MBA, spent more than twenty years in international senior executive functions, fifteen of which as chief financial officer in biotechnology companies (privately as well as publicly held). He was involved in IPO’s, mergers and acquisitions and raised more than CHF 320 million from private and public investors. He holds a degree in banking and finance, a degree in economics and business administration and an MBA (Hons.) from Columbia University, New York. 

He serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors of Novaremed AG as well as of BiognoSYS AG, and is a member of the Board of Directors of Kanyos, ProteoMediX, Virometix and Horizon Pharma AG. Harry is also a member of the foundation council of HBM Fondation.